NUJ to award N1m for best investigative journalism


Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) has initiated the award for the best journalist of the year with the winner receiving N1 million.
According to the NUJ, the introduction of the Investigative Journalist of the Year award is part of its press freedom awards, which celebrate the important principles of press freedom, defend the media from attacks on their independence and pay tribute to journalists who have lost their lives in the line of duty.

At a press conference yesterday in Abuja, the national president of the NUJ, Chris Isiguzo, said since press freedom is an indispensable pillar in the architecture of democracy anywhere in the world, no democracy can thrive without citizens’ adequate access to transparent and reliable information.
“Press freedom is the cornerstone for building fair and impartial institutions. Press Freedom is a catalyst in the mobilisation of the citizenry to hold their leaders accountable as well as promote speaking truth to power.

ALSO READ  Just In: Ebonyi Governor Sacks 1,000 Aides

“The press is the fourth arm of government and recognised so in the 1999 Nigerian constitution as amended. The press must hold the government and citizens accountable at different levels,” Isiguzo said of their decision this year to combine the Good Governance Awards with the Press Freedom Awards.
He said: “Many journalists in Nigeria have faced harassment, threat, physical injury, imprisonment, and even death in the course of discharging their legitimate duties. It is the courage and sacrifice of these journalists that we are celebrating by organising the 2024 Nigeria Union of Journalists’ Press Freedom and Good Governance Awards.
Isiguzo said, “Torch Bearers of Press Freedom Awards will be given to journalists who have faced harassment, physical injury, imprisonment or death in their line of duty.

ALSO READ  Anambra first lady makes special plea to Mothers Union

“Best Investigative Reporter of the Year Award will be given to the reporter who has done the best investigative reporting in the year under review. The story must have a significant positive national and international impact and has led to systems improvement and engendered the citizens’ better quality of life.
“Press Freedom Platform Awards will be given to media houses that have supported press freedom
“Corporate Friend of the Media Awards will be given to corporate organisations that have supported press freedom
“Defender of Press Freedom Awards will be given to experienced journalists and other Nigerians who have actively defended press freedom

“Life Time Achievement Awards will be given to those who have shown resilience in supporting press freedom and/or have provided media platforms for journalists to practice their craft.

ALSO READ  Induction Of Anambra State Council TUC Women Commission

“Distinguished Friend of the Press Awards will be given to public and political office holders who have made outstanding contributions to the defence of press freedom/or have actively supported press freedom,” Isiguzo said, adding that the Good Governance Awards will be in 22 categories, adding that Nomination of individuals and corporate bodies for the different categories of awards opens February 15, 2024 and ends on March 28, 2024 and should be sent by e-mail to press freedom good governance

The awards night and dinner will be held on May 4, 2024, at the Grand Ball Room, Abuja Continental Hotel (Former Abuja Sheraton Hotel and Towers) as part of NUJ’s celebration of 2024 World Press Freedom Day.

What are your thoughts?

Discover more from Odogwu Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading