Federal High Court’s Slots: CHRSJ Kicks over Nominations

Tongues are currently wagging over the nominations of some judges and lawyers to fill the six available vacancies at the Federal High Court in the country.

To this effect, a human rights group, Centre for Human Rights and Social Justice (CHRSJ) in a statement signed by its  Executive
Chairman, Comrade Adeniyi Alimi Sulaiman on Thursday and, kicked against the nomination of some individuals due to their alleged past

CHRSJ which noted it was already making its complaints formal through a petition to the relevant judicial quarters, implored the
stakeholders to ensure the right people are chosen to fill the available vacancies.

According to the group’s Chairman, the body would not hesitate to take the case to the EFCC and ICPC if the right thing was not done.

ALSO READ  Human Rights and Empowerment Project Gets New Resource Centre in Awka

He said for instance,an uneasy calm now pervades Osun State jand particularly,Osun Judiciary over the nomination and the shortlisting of some of those angling for the position including Mrs Bolatito
Ajibade, the current Chief Registrar of the Ondo State High Court,
Akure, who was in 2010, allegedly sacked by the then Chief Judge of
Nigeria (CJN), Justice Aloysius Katsina Alu,as the Secretary to the
National Judicial Institute as reported in the media.

Comrade Sulaiman wondered why individuals charged with alleged
misconducts could be nominated to represent their states.

Originally, over 150 of them who are either judges or lawyers being
indigenes of Osun but resident in different parts of the nation, had
applied for the single slot allocated to the state.

ALSO READ  Tokyo Olympics: Team Nigeria camp opens July 3

However, in a circular dated 8th March,2021, addressed to Judges of
Federal High Courts across the Federation and signed by the Chief
Judge, Justice John Tsoho,six of them were shortlisted from Osun.

These include Mrs Ajibade Bolatito,Olakunle Yusuf,Ayilara Olusegun
Ayodele,Oladigbolu Abidemi Monday, Fagbenle Emmanuel Olusegun and
Abodunde Hazrat Babalakin-Are.

Aside Osun, states like Niger,Kano, Katsina and Yobe,have equally
received the names of their shortlisted candidates from which they
will choose one each, to be appointed as a Federal High Court Judge.

From Niger State,ten people were shortlisted which includes Chiroma
Moses Gamzhi, Bala Khalifa Muhammed,Jibo Maryam Daso,Ojimi Rachael
Dufia,Musa Suleiman Liman,Baba Alhaji Saidu,Fati Suleiman
Takuma,Garafini Ahmed A, Nasiru Muazu and Murtala Muhammed Bala.

Kano has Mukhtar Garba Dandago, Ahmed G. Mohammed,Musa Ahmed,Binta
Mansur Mahmoud,Hanif Sanusi Yusuf and Kyauta Abdullahi.

ALSO READ  Delta JUSUN directs members to resume work

Those shortlisted from Kastina State are Aminu Garba,Umar
Abdul-Raman,Abdulmumeen Nuradeen,Halima Lawal Bagiwa,Aliyu Amina
Mohammad and Nasiru Salele while from Yobe are Emmanuel Gakko and
Mohammed Adamu Jarere. Others include Mohammed Garba Bawa,Mustapha
Wakil, Usman Lukman Nuhu and Aisha Ahmed Fika M.

The human rights group therefore appealed to the Chief Judge of
Federal High Court and those of the states of federation, particularly
the five states concerned, to ensure that people with track records
and proven integrity are chosen for the higher judicial


Comrade Adeniyi Alimi Sulaiman
(Revolutionary Alfa)
Executive Chairman,CHSRJ.
+234 8038591504/+234 8022697573

What are your thoughts?

%d bloggers like this: