5th Nigeria Tourism Awards: Gov. Sanwo-Olu, others emerge winners


Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State; Chief Abiodun Odusanwo, organiser of the Nigeria Tourism Transportation Summit (NTTS) and others have emerged winners of the Nigeria Tourism Awards.

Mr Efetobo Awhana, the Chief Executive Officer of the award disclosed this in a statement on Wednesday in Lagos.He said that the winners emerged following a careful and diligent scoring process introduced in 2020 as they were judged and scored on the set criteria for their individual categories.

He said that the winners of the award would be celebrated at the Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel in Lagos on May 20.“The most anticipated categories for the 5th edition will go to Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu as the Best Tourism governor; Chief Abiodun Odusanwo as Tourism Personality of the Year;  Mrs Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf, the Best Tourism Commissioner.“Taiye Olayemi of the News Agency of Nigeria as the Best Tourism Journalist and Park Vega Water Park as the Best Family Amusement Centre.

ALSO READ  Select One Of The President Children Chairman INEC - Fayose

“Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented to Tope Ogbeni-Awe, a marketing communications expert who has contributed massively to the growth of the tourism industry for decades,” he said.According to him, the ceremony will also celebrate industry icons who have contributed to the growth of tourism in Nigeria.

“The Special Recognition Awards for the 5th edition will be presented to Chief Michael Adeojo (Tourism Investment) and Aura by Transcorp (Special Recognition Award – Tourism Innovation).“Some other honourees include Special Adviser to Ekiti State Governor on Tourism Development, Wale Ojo-Lanre; NTDC North Central Zonal Coordinator, Mrs Nanna Yakubu; Chairman Delta State Tourism Board, Fidelia Salami;  Kayode Adeshola of Tourism Plus; Mr Chuma Mgbojikwe of Transcorp Hotels.“Others are SKAL International Lagos President, Mr Ademola Sanya; Infogem Ltd. Chairman, Chief Ayo Olumoko; NANTA VP Lagos Zone, Mr Yinka Folami and Manaher of SJ Tours, Mrs Abiola Ogunbiyi.Awhana said that the Nigeria Tourism Awards  which is also known as the Balearica Awards, was named and designed after the “Crowned Crane”, the bird which was voted the national bird of Nigeria.

ALSO READ  Niger Delta States Should Control Oil As Zamfara Manages Gold ― CORN.

He noted that this had become the icon for excellence for the tourism industry in Nigeria.“The 5th edition of Nigeria Tourism Awards is a landmark one for us as it symbolises the growth and resilience of an industry battling for survival following the devastation occasioned by the COVID-19 pandemic.“Nigeria Tourism Awards recognises those tourism organisations and individuals who have sought creative ways to excel and grow brand Nigeria,” he said.Mrs Nnena Fakoya-Smith, the Awards Coordinator said, “Nigeria Tourism Awards remains the most prestigious award celebrating innovation and excellence in Nigeria’s tourism industry.

“It is a strong platform to showcase the work of the best of the industry and promote outstanding brands and stakeholders.”

ALSO READ  President Buhari Signs N30,000 Minimum Wage Bill Into Law

She said some of the tourism brands to be honoured during the awards would include Best Beach Hotel; Best Luxury Hotel;  Best Boutique Hotel; Best Business Hotel and Best Family Hotel.Others are Best Resort; Best Training School; Best International Airline; Best Domestic Airline; Best Fast Food Chain;  Best Domestic Tour Operator and Best Online Travel Agency amongst others. (NAN)

About Post Author

What are your thoughts?