Jubilation as Awka North & South Youth Football League ends


— Coordinator, Emeka Okwa lauds Hon Prof Orogbu

By Ebuka Oguocha, Awka

Awka North and South Youth Football League, sponsored by Hon. Professor Oby Lilian Orogbu has ended with Young Star FC from Awka South winning the Championship cup.

Lake Breakers from Awka came
second while the Denominators from Okpuno came third.

www.odogwublog.com reports that Awka North and South Youth Football League sponsored by Hon. Professor Oby Lilian Orogbu, the representative of Awka North and South at the Federal House of Representatives, kicked off on the 2nd Sunday of October (7th) and concluded on Sunday, 10th December.

Notably, this marks the first instance of a woman representing Awka North and South supporting the youth in this manner, providing an excellent platform for local talent in football.

ALSO READ  Messi snubs Barca, discloses where he will play after departing PSG

Emeka Okwa, the league coordinator, shared, “Fourteen teams initiated the tournament, and today Sunday, 10th December, 2023, the remaining six completed their matches. We are delighted that Professor Oby Orogbu’s support has allowed the youth of Awka North and South to exhibit their football prowess. Some participants, including traders, students, and artisans, may even move on to different clubs sequelto their sterlingperformance at the league. We express our gratitude to Hon Prof. Oby Lilian and call upon her to represent us effectively. Our prayers are with her for continued wisdom in leading us.”

The tournament comprised four teams from Awka Constituency 1, four from Awka North, and the remaining six from Awka South Constituency 11. The results placed Young Star FC from Awka South in the first position, Lake Breakers from Awka in the second position, and Denominators from Okpuno in the third position.

ALSO READ  I’m proud to be part of ‘Akwaba,’ 2024 AFCON theme song – Yemi Alade

Hon. Kenechukwu Orogbu, representing Professor Oby Orogbu, DG of her campaign office, was present at the event. Noteworthy attendees included IGS old boys, Arthur Eze Market Union members, and Obiako, a former player for Rangers. The prize money distribution was a hundred and fifty thousand naira for the first position, a hundred thousand naira for the second position, and fifty thousand naira for the third position.

In conclusion, appreciation was extended to the committee members and the coordinator, Emeka Okwa, for their dedicated efforts towards the success of the tournament. The collective hope is for an even better event in the coming year.

What are your thoughts?

Discover more from Odogwu Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading