INEC announces APC winner of 26 Imo Assembly seats, PDP alleges rigging


Twenty-six candidates of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in the Imo State House of Assembly election have been proclaimed winners by the Independent National Electoral Commission, (INEC).

A statement by the Imo State INEC Commissioner, Prof. Sylvia Agu, announced that APC won 26 out of the 27 seats in the assembly while the election in Ahiazu Mbaise Constituency was declared inconclusive.

Some of the candidates of the APC who won their reelection bids include Ibeh Kennedy C. (Obowo), Onyemachi Kanayo (Owerri West), Hon. Eddy Obinna (Aboh Mbaise), Nwaneri Chigozie Reginald (Oru East), and Amara Iwuanyanwu, Deputy Speaker of the House.

However, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, on Sunday alerted Nigerians that INEC officials posted to Aboh Mbaise LGA of the state for yesterday’s House of Assembly elections was abducted allegedly by agents of Imo APC and taken to a location in Owerri, where they rewrote the results already won by PDP to favour APC.

ALSO READ  Abaribe eyes Abia governorship seat

The opposition party accused the Imo State governor, Senator Hope Uzodinma, and security agencies of collusion in a release issued by the party’s Publicity Secretary, Collins Opurozor, and made available to in Owerri, the capital of Imo State.

PDP claimed the results announced at the various voting places in Aboh Mbaise and relayed to iREV Portal showed that the party won the area’s House of Assembly seat with more than 90 per cent of the total votes cast.

The opposition party alleged that as final collation was being awaited at the Collation Center, armed thugs, security agents and Ebubeagu militiamen, led by APC stalwarts, stormed the venue in the middle of the night, attacked party agents and took away INEC officials with election materials.

What are your thoughts?

Discover more from Odogwu Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading