Anambra Assembly Renews Tenure Of LG Councils’ TC Chairmen & Members

Anambra Assembly passes N137.1 billion budget for 2020

The Anambra State House of Assembly has renewed the tenure of the Transition Committee Chairmen for the twenty one local government areas in the state for another three months.
The House renewed their tenure during yesterdays plenary in Awka.

House of Assembly Correspondent, Chukwuemeka Modilim reports that the House extended their tenure in line with section two hundred and eight of the local government law 1999 as amended, as requested by Governor Willie Obiano.

The Speaker of the House, Right Honourable Uche Okafor read out the confirmation of their appointments to the House, while the lawmakers supported it through a voice vote.

ALSO READ  Nnewi Community rejects IPOB, tasks police

In his remark, the Speaker charged the Local Governments Transition Committee Chairmen to attract more dividends of democracy to their local governments and help Governor Willie Obiano to make his achievements visible in their local government areas as well as work with their representatives in the State House of Assembly to enforce COVID-19 law in their various local government areas.

In his speech, the Transition Committee Chairman, for Idemili North Local Government Area, Mr. Raphael Nnabuife thanked the House and Governor Willie Obiano for given them another opportunity to pilot the affairs of their local government areas, assuring that they will continue to work for the benefit of the state.

ALSO READ  Anambra 2021: Gladiators Gear Up For Guber Race

On his part, the Transition Committee Chairman, Orumba South Local Government Area, Chief Cipril Okereke while commending Governor Obiano for finding him worthy to serve the local government area, assured that he will compliment the efforts of the state government in the war against COVID-19 and make positive impact on the lives of his people.

What are your thoughts?

%d bloggers like this: