SDGs: Experts Advocate Collaboration at NLA Conference in Awka


By Gabriel Chy Alonta

Experts concluded a 2-day conference organized by the Nigeria Library Association (NLA), Anambra State Chapter, with a plea for increased collaboration across sectors to align with global trends and technological advancements.

The 2023 Annual Conference and AGM, held at Prof. Kenneth Dike State Central E-Library, Awka, on Thursday November 30, revolved around the theme, “Let Us Collaborate: Working Together on Global Trends and Technological Advances.”

Dr. Njide Phina Onyekwelu, the chairman of the occasion, emphasized the vital role librarians play in knowledge sharing, describing them as “architects of knowledge dissemination and guiding lights to information.” She stressed the importance of libraries in providing resources for skill enhancement, creativity, innovation, and research.

ALSO READ  Q3: Nigeria witnesses 27 incident of armed robbery at port anchorage – NIMASA

In her keynote presentation, Dr. Vera Nwadinobi, the Executive Chairman of Anambra State Universal Basic Education Board (ASUBEB), linked the conference theme to Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) 1 and 17. She called for collaboration among librarians, educators, and international partners to address challenges and foster efficiency.

Dr. Ngozi Perpetua Osuchukwu, the Chairman of NLA Anambra State, highlighted the significance of collaboration, stating, “We believe in information sharing and engagement.” She emphasized the association’s commitment to partnering with various organizations to achieve common goals.

Goodwill messages from the Rector of Federal Polytechnic, Oko Engr. Dr Francisca Nwafulugo (represented by her Deputy, Dr. Stephen Ezekwe), Sir Paul Nwosu, Commissioner for Information, and the Honourable Commissioner for Education, Prof. Ngozi Chuma-Udeh (represented by Mr. Nnaemeka Egwuonwu) underscored the need for collaboration across sectors for societal growth.

ALSO READ  Police Arrest Man Accused Of Defiling Minor In Ogun

The conference concluded with awards presented to outstanding individuals, including Sir Benjamin Okwuchukwu Uduji, Pastor Mrs. Ifeoma Abayol, Lady Obiageli Nnabugwu, Dr. Ezemba Nwabu, Dr. Uchechukwu Enweani, and Prof. Norbert Amaechi Agbanu.

The event also celebrated doctoral degree holders within the Association from 2020 to 2023, namely – Dr. Ngozi Osuchukwu, Dr. Nwabu Ezemba, Dr. Adaora Obuezie, Dr. Ifeyinwa Okonkwo, Dr. Amaka Florence Nwofor, Dr. Celestine Umeji, Dr. Obiora Udem, Dr. Amaka Obiamalu, Dr. Angela Anike, Dr. Okeoma Ezechukwu, Dr. Ada Orakpo, Dr. Blessing Otubelu, Dr. Ndidiamaka Nwajiaku, Dr. Uche Enweani, Dr. Chukwuka Dibia, Dr. Nkechi Obiozor, Dr. Chioma Azubuike, Dr. Oby Muokebe, Dr. Chioma Ezeabasili, Dr. Lucy Okonkwo and Dr. Ngozi Nwogwugwu.

What are your thoughts?

Discover more from Odogwu Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading