In July 1966 Lieutenant Muhammadu Buhari was one of the participants in a coup, led by Lt-Col Murtala Muhammed, that overthrew and assassinated Nigeria's first military Head of State General Aguiyi Ironsi, Other participants in the coup on 28 July 1966 are: 2nd Lieutenant Sani Abacha, Lieutenant Ibrahim Babangida, Major Theophilus Danjuma, Lieutenant Ibrahim Bako

Lieutenant Colonel Muhammadu Buhari was among a group of officers (led by Colonels Ibrahim Taiwo, Joseph Garba, Abdulahi Mohammed, Anthony Ochefu, Lieutenant Colonels Shehu Musa Yar'Adua, Ibrahim Babangida and Alfred Aduloju) who overthrew the Head of State, General Yakubu Gowon. Col. Buhari was appointed military governor of the North Eastern State after the successful execution of the coup.

Major-General Muhammadu Buhari was one of the leaders of the military coup of December 31, 1983 that overthrew the democratically elected government of President Shehu Shagari. At the time of the coup plot, Buhari was the General Officer Commanding (GOC), Third Armored Division of Jos.
BUHARI'S HISTORY OF COMMITTING TREASON: BUHARI'S HISTORY OF COMMITTING TREASON: Reviewed by Odogwu Emeka Odogwu on Tuesday, January 10, 2017 Rating: 5

No comments: